

August 2015

2015 Meeting In Review

A new record of 90 registrants was set at the 2015 AADC meeting July 31 through August 1. New officers include President Scott Strauss (sstrauss@barberlawfirm.com), President Elect Michael McCarty Harrison (michael.harrison@wdt-law.com), Secretary, Bryan Burns (bryan.burns@tyson.com), and Treasurer Rebecca Hattabaugh (rhattabaugh@lcahlaw.com).

Michael Harrison agreed to form and chair a membership committee. Michael is reaching out to each firm with the goal of appointing firm membership liaisons. We currently have 183 active members with a yearend goal of 200 and 225 by the 2016 meeting.

Bryan Burns agreed to form and chair a government/legislative committee. The immediate goal is to monitor the happenings of these bodies and quickly disseminate that information to our membership. In addition, we hope to be in position to offer the defense perspective to the legislature and government bodies. It is an unfortunate truth that our historic silence has been wrongly interpreted as acquiescence.



Judge Pamela Honneycutt, First Division Judge in the Second Judicial Circuit received the AADC Judge of the Year Award presented by outgoing President David Glover.



Don Taylor of Fayetteville received the AADC Lawyer of the Year award, again presented by David Glover.